How to cancel your Klaviyo account

read
Last updated at:

You will learn

Learn how to cancel your subscription payments or stop using either SMS or email in Klaviyo. Canceling your subscription will not close or completely delete your Klaviyo account's content, but instead

If your email or SMS plan is simply too large or does not fit your current needs, you can instead downgrade your plan. To do so, visit our guides on Downgrading Your Email Plan or Downgrading Your SMS Plan

Before you begin

Before you cancel your account, note the following: 

  • Only account Owners can cancel an account or channel
  • This method does not apply to those who:
    • Are on a manually billed plan
    • Have a contract that is greater than 1 month

To check if you are manually billed, head to your Account Overview in Klaviyo. To cancel your subscription when being manually billed, please contact our Support team

Account help and troubleshooting resources

Before you make any changes to your subscriptions, we recommend checking out the following resources, which can help you get the most out of using Klaviyo. As our users tell us, sometimes a few key settings or a single strategy can be a total game-changer. These six resources can help you transform your growth with the tools that are already at your fingertips.

As you proceed to canceling your Klaviyo subscriptions, we recommend that you also reference our article on Migrating off of Klaviyo. This resource will explain how to properly turn off Klaviyo features that you no longer need as well as transfer key data to your next service provider (if applicable).

Cancel your account

  1. Click into the account dropdown in the upper right-hand corner of your screen and select Account
    account_dropdown_redo.png
  2. Navigate to Billing > Billing Preferences
    mceclip0.png
  3. Under Plan Overview, select Manage my Subscription(s)
  4. If you wish to continue, choose the subscription you want to cancel (e.g.,Cancel my Email subscription)
    mceclip1.png
  5. Click Continue
  6. Select a reason for canceling; select all that apply
  7. Optional: add feedback in the box labeled What else could we do to improve
    billing_3.jpg
  8. Click Continue once you finish adding your reason(s) for canceling
  9. Optional: choose one of the provided educational resources to try out a suggested strategy by clicking into a resource or Back to Overview
    cancel_2.png
  10. To continue canceling your account, select Continue
  11. Choose when your cancelation takes effect:
    • At the end of the billing cycle (recommended)
      • Campaigns and flows will continue to send until the date listed as the last day of this billing cycle
      • Integrations will also work until the last day of the billing cycle
      • At the end of your billing cycle, you will no longer be able to send messages in Klaviyo and all integrations and future payments will be disabled
    • Immediately
      • Your account will be closed immediately

        • Integrations and future payments will be disabled
        • Flows and campaigns will no longer send 
      • No refunds will be issued for any remainder of the billing period

        mceclip2.png
  12. Click the box to confirm you understand how canceling impacts your Klaviyo email, SMS, or both subscriptions
  13. Review the confirmation message and next steps 
    mceclip3.png

Optional: reactivate as a free account

After canceling your subscriptions, you still have the choice to reactivate as a free account. In doing so, you can regain access to many core Klaviyo features but will be restricted to a free plan’s sending limits rather than your original paid subscription.

Note that upon reactivating as a free account, you will still have access to your data from your former paid account.

How to reactivate as free account

  1. Navigate back to Account > Billing
  2. Select either Email Plans or SMS Plans, depending on which you wish to reactivate
  3. Click the link labeled Want to use the Klaviyo Free Plan?free_account_activation.jpg
  4. In the Overview page, reactivate as a free account
It’s important to note that you will need to turn flows back to live once you reactivate your account back to a free subscription. Additionally, you may need to enable any ecommerce or third-party integration once you reactivate.

Additional Resources

x
Was this article helpful?
126 out of 575 found this helpful