How to Enable Auto-Upgrade Billing

read
Last updated at:

Overview

You have the option to turn on auto-upgrade billing for both email and SMS plans in your Klaviyo account. This feature affords you the opportunity to avoid hitting your monthly sending limits and continue to send SMS, email, and automated flows unimpeded. This option is especially advantageous during important marketing windows throughout the year where you may send email or SMS at higher volumes. By turning auto-upgrade on, you will not be inhibited by limitations preventing you from continuing to communicate with your customers.

Enable Auto-Upgrades via Billing Preferences

You can change your auto-upgrade settings for your email or SMS subscription any time by visiting Account > Billing > Billing Preferences.

Navigate to your account name in the upper-righthand corner, and click on Account from the dropdown.
Then, click on Billing in the menu, and choose Billing Preferences from the dropdown.

Billing menu dropdown expanded to show Billing Preferences item

Once inside the Billing Preferences page, you can update your billing information and enable auto-upgrading.

Enable Email Subscription Auto Upgrade or SMS Subscription Auto Upgrade to automatically have your email or SMS plan upgraded if you need more sending capacity in the future. You can choose to turn on this setting for your email plan, SMS plan, or both.

When this setting is turned on, we will upgrade your subscription for you once you are at your plan’s limits for either SMS or email. This way you don’t have to worry about being unable to send in the future. If this does occur, we will place your account on a higher plan tier. We will email you an invoice with each auto-upgrade as well.

To opt into auto-upgrade, check the radio button under Email Subscription Auto Upgrade or Subscription Auto Upgrade.

Plan Overview section with Email or SMS auto upgrade options toggle choices

Once you have confirmed your updates, click Update Plan Settings.

Enable Auto-Upgrades via the Email Campaigns Section

If you are inside the Campaigns tab and you are getting ready to send an email, but are either close to your monthly email sending allotment or do not have capacity left on your plan, you will be prompted to upgrade. If you have already hit your email send allotment for the month, you will not be able to send until you upgrade. Below is an example of when you have already hit your limit.

Screen_Shot_2021-08-31_at_11.29.42_AM.jpg

You can upgrade your plan to a higher plan tier by clicking Upgrade. To also enroll in auto-upgrades for future sends, check the additional Email Subscription Auto-Upgrade option.

2021-09-01_12-16-56.jpg

If you choose the additional checkbox below for Email Subscription Auto Upgrade, you will be opted in to automatically have your plan upgraded should you need more sending capacity in the future. This means that we will upgrade your subscription for you once you are at your plan limits, and you do not have to worry about being unable to send. If this does occur, we will place your account on a higher plan tier. We will email you an invoice with each auto-upgrade as well.

Click Upgrade to complete the purchase, then continue sending your email campaign.

Enable Auto-Upgrades When Changing Your Email or SMS Plan

Klaviyo will send you notifications both through email and in-app when your SMS or email plan is either close to your monthly sending allotment or does not have any capacity left. You will be prompted to upgrade to avoid being unable to send your SMS or email campaign or, if you have already hit your limit, to be able to send your next campaign. 

Once you click on Upgrade Your Plan from any of these notifications, you will be prompted to checkout and complete your subscription purchase.

SMS_checkout.jpg

We recommend that you also consider turning on Auto-Upgrade for either your SMS plan, email plan, or both. This way, you avoid being potentially unable to send in the future, especially during important and strategic points in the year. Follow the instructions above to turn on this additional option on your Billing Preferences page.

Additional Resources

 

 

x
Was this article helpful?
3 out of 4 found this helpful