You need permission to edit billing settings to change plans in Klaviyo. Owners and Admins have this permission.

These steps apply to accounts with self-service billing. If your account is on a manually billed contract, contact your Klaviyo representative to change your plans.

You will learn

Learn how to add a paid plan or manually upgrade or downgrade your Klaviyo billing plan.

This article does not discuss canceling or downgrading to a free plan. If you wish to cancel or downgrade to free, please read our article on how to cancel your Klaviyo account.

Key information about adding or changing plans

Upgrading

When you upgrade (either manually or automatically), it immediately takes effect. You then stay on that plan until you upgrade again or downgrade.

For profiles and email, Mobile Messaging, and Reviews, an upgrade costs the difference between your current plan and the new plan for the current billing cycle. Upgrades to Customer Hub, Marketing Analytics, and Advanced KDP are prorated based on the time remaining in your billing cycle. In subsequent cycles, you pay the full amount of the new plan.

For example, say that you're on a $100/month profiles and email plan with 5K profiles and 50K emails, and you upgrade to a $140/month plan for an additional 1.5K profiles and 15K emails. In this case, you will pay $40 for the month of the upgrade. From then on, the monthly rate will be $140.

Any review requests that did not send between when you hit your plan limits and when you upgraded will be sent out immediately after upgrading.

You cannot upgrade if there's an outstanding invoice in your account.

Upgrading vs. flexible overages

With flexible overages, you stay on your current plan and pay a 1-time fee for additional usage during the current cycle. For plans billed by message units, the fee is based on your current plan's unit cost and the additional capacity needed to reach the next tier(s). The extra capacity resets when the cycle renews.

For a unit-based example, say your current cost per message is $10 and the next plan up offers 100 more messages. When you flex, you'll be charged a 1-time fee of $1,000.

For dollar-based Mobile Messaging plans, flexible overages buy additional messaging spend from the next tier. The fee is the price difference between the tiers. Review the cost shown in your upgrade preference before choosing this option.

Downgrading

With downgrading:

  • When downgrading your profiles and email plan, choose a tier that covers all your active profiles. Your profile count can equal the plan's limit.
  • It does not take effect immediately: the payment downgrade and decreased plan limits go into effect as of your next billing cycle.
  • If you upgrade (manually or via auto-upgrade) before the downgrade takes effect, it effectively cancels the downgrade and you would need to request the downgrade again.
  • Klaviyo does not offer refunds if you downgrade in the middle of a billing cycle, as stated in our terms of service.
  • You cannot downgrade if there is an outstanding invoice for your account.

When you first purchase a profiles and email or Mobile Messaging subscription, Automatically upgrade is selected by default. Customer Agent and Helpdesk use Flexible overages by default. Changing a paid plan does not reset its saved upgrade preference. Review the preference shown for a new subscription before completing checkout.

Adding another plan

When you add another plan to your Klaviyo account, please note that:

  • Profiles and email, Mobile Messaging, and Reviews plans are not prorated if you add them mid-billing cycle. Customer Hub, Marketing Analytics, and Advanced KDP plans are prorated for the time remaining in the cycle.
  • All plans renew on the same date every month.
    • The renewal date is the day you first began paying for Klaviyo; it is not specific to each plan.

Add or change your plan

There are a couple of different ways to change plans in Klaviyo. You can go through the Billing page to upgrade or downgrade, or upgrade plans directly via the Campaign Review page.

Your plan can change again if you manually change it or if automatic upgrades apply. For profiles and email, turning off auto-upgrade for email sends does not turn off upgrades based on your active profile count. Auto-downgrade based on profiles is a separate setting that you must turn on, and it cannot be used with auto-upgrade.

  1. Click your account name in the bottom left corner.
  2. Click Billing.
  3. Click Change plan.
  4. In checkout, find the product you want to add or change:
    • If the product has a plan dropdown, open it and choose the plan you want.
    • If the product has an Add to cart button, click it to select its paid plan.
Change plan.jpg
Change plan.jpg
  1. Review the price and limits of each selected plan.
    • If you are downgrading your profiles and email plan, the lower tier must cover all the active profiles in your account.
    • Note that downgrades go into effect the next billing cycle; they don’t happen immediately.
    • You can only downgrade to a free plan by canceling; the free plan does not appear as a regular downgrade option.
change plan.jpg
change plan.jpg
  1. For a plan with upgrade preferences, review the selected option if it appears in checkout. If you are changing an existing paid plan, use Billing > Preferences to change its saved preference after checkout.
  2. If an upgrade preference dropdown is shown, choose one of the following options available for your plan:
    • None to stop sending messages for that plan when its limit is reached, until you manually upgrade or the billing cycle renews. This option is not available for Customer Agent or Helpdesk.
    • Automatically upgrade to move to a higher plan when you reach the usage limit.
    • Flexible overages to buy additional usage for the current cycle while keeping your base plan.
  3. Click Continue to payment.
  4. Review your payment method, billing address, tax information, and the amount due. Enter any required information. If you add or change your payment method, click Save. Review the subscription terms before confirming.
  5. Click Confirm and Pay to add or upgrade a plan, or Confirm if you are only downgrading. Wait for checkout to finish successfully.

If you upgraded, this change will take effect immediately so that you can continue sending. Also, any review requests that did not send between when you hit your plan limits and when you upgraded will be sent out immediately after upgrading.

If your plan supports upgrade preferences, you can change the saved preference after checkout. Go to Billing > Preferences and follow the steps in how to choose your upgrade preference.

Additional resources

  • How Klaviyo billing works

    Learn how Klaviyo bills customers for Profiles and Emails, Mobile Messaging, Reviews, Advanced Klaviyo Data Platform (formerly “CDP”), Marketing Analytics, Customer Hub, Helpdesk, and Customer Agent.

  • Understanding tax with Klaviyo

    Learn about tax, including sales tax, VAT, and GST, in Klaviyo, including how it's calculated and how to view it.

  • How to update your credit card information

    Learn how to update the credit card information associated with your account. Note that Klaviyo does not support multiple credit cards in a single account.

Was this article helpful?
Use this form only for article feedback. Learn how to contact support.

Explore more from Klaviyo

Community
Connect with peers, partners, and Klaviyo experts to find inspiration, share insights, and get answers to all of your questions.
Partners
Hire a Klaviyo-certified expert to help you with a specific task, or for ongoing marketing management.
Support

Access support through your account.

Email support (free trial and paid accounts) Available 24/7

Chat/virtual assistance
Availability varies by location and plan type