You will learn

Learn about the actions available for your campaigns before, during, and after sending. Available actions depend on the campaign’s status and your permissions. The editing and rescheduling steps below apply to single-channel campaigns. For campaigns with multiple messages, see Getting started with omnichannel campaigns.

Delete a campaign

Campaigns in draft mode can be deleted. Scheduled, sending, sent, and canceled campaigns cannot be deleted. You can archive draft, sent, or canceled campaigns.

Once deleted, a campaign cannot be recovered.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Click the 3-dot menu to the right of the campaign you would like to delete.
  3. Click Delete.
Option to delete a campaign
Option to delete a campaign
  1. Click Delete in the modal to confirm and delete.

Edit campaign content

You can edit a draft campaign or revert a scheduled campaign to draft before editing it. Messages that have already been sent cannot be edited.

Edit a draft campaign

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Click the name of the draft campaign you would like to edit, or open its 3-dot menu and click Edit message.
  3. Update as desired.

Edit a scheduled campaign

You can revert a scheduled campaign to draft only when its earliest send time is more than 15 minutes away. If it is scheduled to send in 15 minutes or less, cancel and clone it to make changes.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Click the 3 dots to the far right of the campaign you'd like to edit.
  3. Click Revert to draft.
Pause a campaign
Pause a campaign
  1. Click Revert campaign to draft to confirm and open the campaign editor.
  2. Update as desired.
  3. When you finish editing, continue to the scheduling step, choose the send date and time, and click Schedule message.

If you do not schedule the campaign again, it stays in draft and does not send at the original time.

Learn more about editing or rescheduling scheduled campaigns.

Edit and resend a partially sent email campaign

If you notice an error in an email campaign that is mid-send, cancel it, then edit and send a clone to the remaining recipients.

Messages that have already been sent cannot be edited or recalled. Exclude recipients of the original email from the cloned campaign so they do not receive it again.

There are 3 main steps to editing a campaign mid-send:

  1. Cancel the campaign.
  2. Create a segment of the recipients who already received the campaign.
  3. Edit and resend the campaign to those who have not yet received it, excluding the segment of initial recipients.

Cancel the campaign

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Click the three dots icon to the far right of the campaign you'd like to cancel.
  3. Click Cancel.
Cancel a campaign
Cancel a campaign
  1. Click Cancel campaign to confirm.

Identify those who have already received the campaign

  1. Navigate to Audience > Lists & segments.
  2. Click Create.
  3. Click Segment and name the segment. If a naming panel opens, click Create segment to continue to the segment builder.
  4. Create a segment with the following definition: What someone has done (or not done) > Received Email > at least once > over all time, where Campaign Name equals the name of the original campaign.

Make sure to select the name of your campaign from the dropdown menu that appears.

A segment definition to locate people who have already received a message
A segment definition to locate people who have already received a message
  1. Click Create segment.

Edit and resend the campaign

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Open the three dots icon for the canceled campaign.
  3. Click Clone. Keep Single channel selected and, if account choices are shown, select Clone to the current account.
  4. Enter a campaign name and send date, then click Clone campaign.
  5. On the recipients step, confirm the lists and segments in Send to, then add the segment you just created to Don’t send to.
On the campaigns page, the segment from the section above is excluded
On the campaigns page, the segment from the section above is excluded
  1. Apply your edits to the cloned version of the campaign.
  2. Send the campaign.

Reschedule a campaign

You can reschedule a campaign only when its earliest send time is more than 15 minutes away. Campaigns testing different send times cannot be rescheduled here. To change those campaigns, revert to draft when available, or cancel and clone them.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Click the name of the campaign you’d like to reschedule.
  3. On the following page, click Reschedule.
Reschedule a campaign
Reschedule a campaign
  1. Select a new send time.
  2. Click Schedule message to apply the changes.

Rename a campaign

For a single-channel campaign, you can change the name only while it is in draft. Revert a scheduled campaign to draft first. The name of a sent single-channel campaign cannot be changed.

To change the name of a campaign:

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Click the additional options menu (3 dots) next to the campaign you'd like to rename.
  3. Click Edit details (or Quick edit, if shown).
  4. On the following screen, edit the name in the Campaign name field.
  5. Click Save.

View a campaign

Once a campaign has been sent, its message content cannot be edited, but you can view it.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Find the campaign you would like to view and click the three dots icon to the right of the campaign name.
  3. Click Preview content.
View a campaign
View a campaign

Archive a campaign

You can archive draft, sent, or canceled campaigns. The campaign’s 3-dot menu does not offer Archive while any of its messages are scheduled or sending. Draft campaigns can also be deleted. Archived campaigns won’t show in the campaigns list view unless you filter for them.

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Find the campaign you would like to archive and click the three dots icon to the right of the campaign name.
  3. Click Archive.

Move a campaign to the archive
Move a campaign to the archive
  1. Click Archive in the confirmation dialog.

To view your archived campaigns, click the Archived filter from the filter bar above the campaigns list view.

Unarchive a campaign

You can filter to see all of your archived campaigns within Campaigns tab. To view and unarchive an archived campaign:

  1. In Campaigns, turn on the Archived filter above the campaign list.
  1. Click the three dots icon to the right of the campaign name and select Unarchive to unarchive your campaign.

View summary details for a scheduled campaign

To review the details of a scheduled campaign (including the send time, message content, send lists, and more):

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. Click the name of any scheduled campaign.
  3. On the following page, review the message’s details.

If needed, use Pause and edit on this page to revert the campaign to draft before editing it. The earliest send time must be more than 15 minutes away.

Copy a campaign ID

To copy a campaign's ID:

  1. Navigate to the Campaigns tab.
  2. From the list or calendar view, click the additional options button next to a campaign.
  3. Click Copy campaign ID.
Copy campaign ID.jpg
Copy campaign ID.jpg

Additional resources

Was this article helpful?
Use this form only for article feedback. Learn how to contact support.

Explore more from Klaviyo

Community
Connect with peers, partners, and Klaviyo experts to find inspiration, share insights, and get answers to all of your questions.
Partners
Hire a Klaviyo-certified expert to help you with a specific task, or for ongoing marketing management.
Support

Access support through your account.

Email support (free trial and paid accounts) Available 24/7

Chat/virtual assistance
Availability varies by location and plan type