Understanding how credit cards are retried after a failed payment
You will learn
Learn how and when Klaviyo retries failed credit card payments, when your account can be suspended, and what to expect after updating the card on file.
If you have custom billing, this process does not apply. You will need to speak to your account manager for any questions about failed payments or account suspension.
Retry process after a failed payment
For recurring payments, accounts with an account manager or at least 1 paid invoice from 1 to 3 months ago have a 72-hour grace period before suspension. Other accounts are suspended immediately after the payment fails.
During this grace period, Klaviyo schedules the first retry for 24 hours after the initial payment failure.
As long as there’s a payment method on file, Klaviyo makes up to 3 scheduled retries during the grace period. Once the outstanding invoices are paid successfully, Klaviyo cancels the scheduled suspension or reactivates a suspended account automatically.
If there’s no payment method on file or your billing coupon is invalid, Klaviyo stops the retry process.
A failed payment also disables auto-upgrade and flexible sending. After resolving the payment, contact support to re-enable your billing upgrade preferences.
Retry process for updating a credit card
After a failed payment, update your credit card on file. During the 72-hour grace period, updating your card brings the pending payment retry forward.
Please allow for the full 1 hour to pass before checking your account’s status.
Once the outstanding invoices are paid successfully, your account will be reactivated automatically. If your account is still suspended after 1 hour, contact support for assistance.
Additional resources
- How to update your credit card information
Learn how to update the credit card information associated with your account. Note that Klaviyo does not support multiple credit cards in a single account.
- Why is my account suspended or disabled?
Learn reasons why your Klaviyo account may be disabled or temporarily suspended.
- How to choose your upgrade preference
Find out how to change to a different billing upgrade preference for messages: automatically upgrade, use flexible sending, or none (to manually upgrade).