How to delete, merge, and export a profile
You will learn
Learn how to delete, merge, and export profiles in Klaviyo in order to keep your account organized. For general information about profiles, head to our article on profiles in Klaviyo.
Delete, merge, or export a profile
- Navigate to Audience > Profiles. Enter the person’s email address or name in Search, press Enter, and select their profile from the results.
- Once you are on the customer's profile, select the Profile actions button.

Delete a profile
Deleting a profile permanently removes its data and cannot be undone. To delete a Klaviyo profile:
- Click Delete Profile in the Profile actions dropdown.
- If you are responding to a data privacy deletion request, select Delete profile in compliance with data privacy request in the popup to record the request. Then click Delete profile.
A Delete started confirmation means deletion is in progress. The profile remains accessible until deletion is complete.
Learn more about recording GDPR deletion requests.
For a profile's event history, any customer-specific information is replaced with the word "redacted," and the customer's information is permanently deleted from Klaviyo.
Recipient reports can display a deleted profile as a random email address beginning with "redacted," such as redacted.11bab993-58bb-4cc9-a654-c152dbe009e1@example.com. Some flow recipient reports display "Deleted profile" instead.

Removing someone from a list is different from deleting their profile. If they later rejoin the same list, whether they can re-enter a list-triggered flow depends on its Re-entry criteria setting. With No re-entry, they can enter only once. Learn more about profiles and list-triggered flows.
Merge 2 profiles
There are a few cases when you may want to merge a profile with another. Example situations include:
- The same contact in your account has 2 different profiles with 2 different email addresses; merging these profiles will result in only 1 profile for that contact, with the email address of the profile you choose to keep.
- The same contact has 2 profiles where one includes a typo in their email address; merging will ensure that you only work with the active profile and consolidate data for the false profile.
Merging profiles is permanent and cannot be undone. Only merge profiles that belong to the same person. To merge a profile:
- Navigate to the profile you want to remove and select Merge profile under Profile actions.
- In the popup that appears, type the email address or name of the profile you want to merge into (keep), then use the Return or Enter button on your keyboard to search.
- Select a profile from your search results.
- If you don’t see the profile you’d like to merge into, make sure there are no typos in your search, then use the Return or Enter button to search again.
- Click Merge profiles.
The merging process takes a few moments to complete. This action is permanent.
When merging profiles, events are replayed and show a recorded date later than the event timestamp.
Properties on the profile you keep will remain intact. Properties on the profile you remove will be added to the profile you keep only when they do not already exist on the remaining profile. There are 2 exceptions:
- Timezone
The timezone from the profile you remove is kept if that profile has a valid timezone. Otherwise, the timezone on the profile you keep remains unchanged. - Location
Location information is kept from the profile with most location info. For example, if the source profile has the full street address and the destination profile only has the city, the merged profile will have the full street address.
Merge this profile... (remove this profile) | ...into this profile | Result |
Contact Email: removeme@email.com First Name: John Last Name: Klaviyo Custom Properties Gender: Male Favorite Color: Red Shirt Size: Medium | Contact Email: john.klaviyo@email.com First Name: John Last Name: Klaviyo Custom Properties Gender: Male Favorite Color: Klaviyo Green | Contact Email: john.klaviyo@email.com First Name: John Last Name: Klaviyo Custom Properties Gender: Male Favorite Color: Klaviyo Green Shirt Size: Medium
|
When merging profiles, all the event data for the source profile will be copied over to the destination profile as well.
Email consent and suppression information is merged along with the profiles. After merging, review the email consent and suppression status on the profile you keep before sending.
Export a profile's data
- Navigate to the profile you want to export and click Export profile under the Profile actions dropdown.
- In the modal that appears, click Start export to export the profile data.
- A confirmation tells you that the data is being exported. Click View all downloads in the confirmation, or open your Downloads page.
- Wait for Processing to change to Download, then click Download to save the profile data as a .zip file.

Additional resources
- Understanding active email profiles in Klaviyo
Learn about active email profiles, including how they differ from suppressed email profiles, and how you can contact the people represented by these profiles.
- How to create a never engaged segment
Learn how to identify your least engaged email subscribers, so you can avoid contacting them to improve and maintain your deliverability. Once you’ve identified them, consider excluding them from your marketing initiatives, sending them one final re-engagement attempt, or suppressing them during list cleaning. In this article, you will learn how to create this segment.
- Understanding suppressed email profiles
Learn about suppressed email profiles, including how they differ from active profiles and how you can use these profiles to better understand your audience.