Delete, Merge, and Export a Profile

read

Overview

Below the Information section of a contact profile are buttons to delete, merge, or export someone's profile in Klaviyo.

Delete a Profile

To delete a Klaviyo profile, click the Delete button below the Information section of a contact profile.

When deleting a profile in Klaviyo, the profile’s event history as well as every recipient record associated with the profile remain in Klaviyo, but any sensitive data associated with the profile is removed.

For a profile's event history, any customer specific information is replaced with the word "redacted", and then the customer's information is permanently deleted from Klaviyo.

For every recipient record associated with a profile, the profile's email address is replaced with a random email address that starts with the word "redacted", for example, redacted.11bab993-58bb-4cc9-a654-c152dbe009e1@example.com.

After clicking the Delete button, a warning message prompts you to confirm your decision to delete a profile.

 

Learn More

Learn more about recording GDPR deletion requests.

Merge Two Profiles

There are a few cases when you may want to merge a profile. Some examples include the following situations:

  • The same contact in your Klaviyo account has two different profiles with two different email addresses; merging will result in only one profile remaining, with one email address for the contact.
  • The same contact has two profiles where one includes a typo in their email address; merging will ensure you're only working with the active profile and consolidate data for the false profile.  

To merge a profile, navigate to the profile you want to remove, and click Merge Profile. In the prompt that appears, enter the email address of the profile you want to merge into. Select Merge Profiles to complete the merge. There is sometimes a slight delay before the profiles are actually merged, as merging is a task in queue that must be processed. This action is permanent.

2017-10-05_14-12-18.gif

Properties on the profile you keep remain intact. Properties on the profile you remove get added to the profile you keep only when they do not already exist on the remaining profile. The table below illustrates this behavior.

Remove this profile Keep this profile Result

Contact

Email: removeme@email.com

First Name: John

Last Name: Klaviyo

Custom Properties

Gender: Male

Favorite Color: Red

Shirt Size: Medium

Contact

Email: john.klaviyo@email.com

First Name: John

Last Name: Klaviyo

Custom Properties

Gender: Male

Favorite Color: Klaviyo Green

Contact

Email: john.klaviyo@email.com

First Name: John

Last Name: Klaviyo

Custom Properties

Gender: Male

Favorite Color: Klaviyo Green

Shirt Size: Medium

 

Export a Profile's Data

Navigate to the profile you want to export and click Export Profile. A modal appears prompting you to confirm your export. Click Start Export to export the profile data.

A green callout confirms that your profile data is available on your Downloads page. From your Downloads page, click to Download to export your profile data as a .zip file.

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 16 found this helpful