How to change the Owner of a portfolio
Only the current portfolio Owner can transfer ownership.
You will learn
Learn how to change the Owner of the portfolio to another user.
This article is specific to portfolios. If you need to change the Owner for a regular Klaviyo account, check out this article on transferring account ownership.
Before you begin
Before making any changes to your users, know that:
- There can only be 1 Owner on the portfolio.
- The portfolio Owner does not need to be an Owner of any linked account. Transferring portfolio ownership does not change either user’s role in linked accounts.
- The portfolio Owner has full access to all data from the linked accounts.
- Every Owner and Admin of a linked account will receive an email when the portfolio Owner changes.
For details on the differences between roles, check out our article on portfolio user permissions.
Transfer ownership of a portfolio
As the portfolio Owner, you can transfer ownership to another portfolio user who has accepted their invitation and logged in. If they are not yet a portfolio user, follow the steps below to add them.
After the transfer, your role changes to Portfolio Admin. Only the new Portfolio Owner can transfer ownership back to you.
How to add a new user to a portfolio
- Make sure you’re logged in to your portfolio account.
- Open the account menu and select Settings > Users.

- Click Add new user.

- In the modal that appears, enter the email address for the user you want to add.
- Open the User Role dropdown and select the user’s initial portfolio role. Portfolio Owner is not available when inviting a user.
- Click Add User.
The person with that email address will receive an email inviting them to the portfolio. The recipient must accept the invite and then log in to become a user.
To transfer ownership of the portfolio:
- From your portfolio, open the account menu and select Settings > Users.
- Click the name of the user who you want to transfer ownership to.
- Open the User Role dropdown.
- Select Portfolio Owner.

- Click Update.
Once you do so, the selected user will become the Portfolio Owner, and your user role will change to Portfolio Admin.