About Suppressed Profiles in Klaviyo

read
Last updated at:

Overview

In Klaviyo, there are two types of profiles: Active and Suppressed. In this article, we will dive deeper into what a suppressed profile is in and what the significance of these profiles are in your account.

What is a Suppressed Profile?

A suppressed profile is a person who can no longer be emailed. To see the total number of customers that are active versus suppressed, click on your Profiles tab and look at the values in the top right corner of the page.

A person can become suppressed for the following reasons:

  • The person unsubscribed
    The main way a profile is suppressed is if they unsubscribe from one of your emails. When someone unsubscribes, Klaviyo will suppress them to ensure that they no longer receive emails from you.
  • The person marked an email as spam
    If a recipient struggles to find an unsubscribe button, or otherwise wants to take action against your email, many inbox providers allow a user to directly mark an email as spam. When this happens, Klaviyo will automatically suppress this person to ensure that they no longer receive emails from you.
  • An email hard bounced
    A hard bounce occurs when an email cannot be delivered due to a permanent reason. This can be caused by a variety of reasons, including a misspelled email or a deliberate block by the email server. A hard bounce signals a permanent email delivery issue, so Klaviyo will automatically suppress these profiles to help ensure your lists stay clean.
  • An email soft bounced more than 7 times
    A soft bounce occurs when an email cannot be delivered due to a temporary reason. For example, a recipient's inbox may be full, the server may be down, etc. If an email soft bounces more than 7 times, it indicates that this reason may be a consistent issue. To prevent continual soft bounces, Klaviyo will suppress email addresses that soft bounce more than 7 times.
  • Manually added
    If you have a file of people you want to manually upload to your suppression list, this is an option. You can distinguish these people on your suppression list by the reason manually added; meanwhile, on their profile, it will say user suppressed. You cannot bulk unsuppress individuals from your suppression list even if you manually added them.
  • The person was suppressed in a previous email service provider
    This type of suppression occurred prior to your use of Klaviyo and was synced from a third-party service provider, such as Mailchimp. In this case, the suppression reason will be listed as user suppressed as well.

If you have Klaviyo's global unsubscribe feature enabled, someone will become globally suppressed in your account after unsubscribing from any email. For more information, head to the section on global suppressions below.

Navigating to Your Suppression List

To find your suppression list in Klaviyo, navigate to the Profiles tab and click Suppressed Profiles in the upper right-hand corner. Once you navigate to your suppression list, you can filter by reason, export this list to a CSV, add an email address manually, or upload a file of people you'd like to suppress.

2017-10-05_14-31-49.png

Please note that you cannot bulk unsuppress in Klaviyo. To manually unsuppress one person, navigate to their profile and click on the remove link that is near their email address.

How Klaviyo Treats Suppressed Profiles

Suppressed Profiles & Pricing

Klaviyo's pricing tiers are based on the total number of active profiles in your account. An active profile is any profile that isn't suppressed.

Klaviyo does not charge for suppressed profiles. If you navigate to your Account Overview, you will only see active profiles referenced in terms of counting against your plan limit. 

account_overview.png

Meanwhile, on the Profiles tab of your account, you will see the counts for total Active Profiles and Suppressed Profiles separately, as shown above.

Exclusion from Email Sends

Klaviyo will automatically exclude all suppressed profiles from email sends. This means that, even if you try to send an email to suppressed profiles, Klaviyo will automatically ensure that these intended recipients are skipped.

For flow emails, under Recipient Activity > Other you will always find a Skipped: Person Suppressed count that signals how many people didn't receive the email because they are suppressed in your account.

Global Suppressions

If you have Klaviyo's global unsubscribe feature enabled, which is highly recommended, someone will become globally suppressed in your account after unsubscribing from any email. This means that if someone unsubscribes from just one list, they will be removed from any list they are on.

You can access a global unsubscribe link by navigating to Account > Settings > Email and scrolling down to the Consent section.

Global_unsubscribes_setting.gif

You can access list-specific settings for global unsubscribes by navigating to the Lists & Segments tab, selecting a list, and clicking into Settings.

Under Unsubscribes, you can check the box to toggle on global unsubscribes for when someone unsubscribes from this list. Click Update List Settings to save this change.

list_unsub.png

We recommend enabling this feature because when a customer unsubscribes from one of your emails, they expect to unsubscribe from all of your emails. If a customer continues to receive emails from you after unsubscribing, they will either ignore them, mark them as spam, or take more aggressive action. As a sender, all of these consequences can significantly harm your email deliverability.

Note that the total number of suppressed profiles on your Profiles tab represents all profiles that have been globally suppressed in your account. If you turn off the global suppressions and a customer unsubscribes from a particular list, they will not count as a suppressed profile on the Profiles tab.

Suspicious Emails

Suspicious emails are email addresses that have hard bounced at least once across the Klaviyo infrastructure. This means that even if they have never hard bounced in your account, they have previously hard bounced in another Klaviyo user's account.

Suspicious emails will automatically be skipped from receiving emails. This is in an effort to preserve your sending reputation, as well as the sending reputation of other Klaviyo customers. You can see a count of the number of suspicious email addresses skipped, along with emails skipped for other reasons, in the Campaign Overview. You can also see this count in the Recipient Activity section for a given campaign. 

Keeping vs. Deleting Suppressed Profiles

There are several reasons why Klaviyo recommends keeping suppressed profiles in your account instead of deleting them:

  • Klaviyo will never charge you for suppressed profiles
    Klaviyo's pricing tiers are based on the total number of active profiles; you will never be prompted to upgrade to pay for suppressed contacts, so there is no cost associated with keeping them in your account.
  • Suppressed users still matter for business insights
    Klaviyo's segmentation tools can help you gain important business insights. If you plan on creating segments to analyze customer behavior, website activity, etc., deleting profiles (even those you can't ultimately email) will skew these segments and make it impossible to get accurate insights.

Additional Resources 

x
Was this article helpful?
264 out of 370 found this helpful