How to Delete or Merge Contact Profiles

read

Overview

Below the Information section of a contact profile are links to either delete someone's profile entirely from Klaviyo or merge the current profile with another profile.

2017-10-05_14-10-03.png

Merge Two Profiles

There are a few cases in which you may want to merge a profile that can include but not limited to:

  • The same contact in your Klaviyo account has two different profiles with two different email addresses; merging will result in only one profile remaining, with one email address, for the contact.
  • The same contact has two profiles where one includes a typo in their email address; merging will ensure you're corresponding to the active profile and consolidate data measured for the false profile.  

To merge a profile, select Merge Profile from the profile that is to be removed. A prompt will appear, outlining the profile to be merged into the profile you've designated. Select Merge Profiles to complete - it can take some time before the profiles are actually merged, as this is a task in queue that must be processed. This action is permanent.

2017-10-05_14-12-18.gif

Properties on the profile you keep remain intact. Properties on the profile you remove get added to the profile you keep only when they do not already exist on the remaining profile. The table below illustrates this behavior.

Remove this profile Keep this profile Result

Contact

Email: removeme@email.com

First Name: John

Last Name: Klaviyo

Custom Properties

Gender: Male

Favorite Color: Red

Shirt Size: Medium

Contact

Email: john.klaviyo@email.com

First Name: John

Last Name: Klaviyo

Custom Properties

Gender: Male

Favorite Color: Klaviyo Green

Contact

Email: john.klaviyo@email.com

First Name: John

Last Name: Klaviyo

Custom Properties

Gender: Male

Favorite Color: Klaviyo Green

Shirt Size: Medium

 

Delete a Klaviyo Profile

To delete a Klaviyo profile, click the Delete button below the Information section of a contact profile.

Deleting a profile will remove the profile from Klaviyo completely and permanently delete all data associated with the profile. Neither deleting nor merging profiles can be reversed.

Was this article helpful?
1 out of 7 found this helpful