The Subscribed to List metric appears on a customer’s profile when they are added to your list via a Klaviyo signup form or through Quick Add. It does not always trigger when someone is added to a Klaviyo list via an integration (with some exceptions outlined below). Because of this, it is crucial to understand best practices around using it for triggering flows and creating segments. In this article, you will learn what the Subscribed to List metric entails and when to use it.
Subscribed to List Metric
Subscribed to List is a metric that appears on a customer’s profile when they are added to your list via a Klaviyo signup form or through Quick Add.
Below is an example of what this metric will look like in a profile.
If someone enters their information into a form multiple times, they will not have multiple Subscribed to List metrics found under their profile, nor will they be re-added to the list multiple times.
Klaviyo will only add a Subscribed to List event to a given profile if they are either:
- Not in the list
- In the list, but suppressed
When Subscribed to List Is Added to a Profile
The Subscribed to List metric will only appear when profiles subscribe to a list via a Klaviyo signup form or through Quick Add.
This metric will not populate for profiles that are synced from an integration (with the exception of Mailchimp and some third-party form integrations), added through your API, or uploaded to a list via a CSV file or copy/paste. As a result, there will likely be more profiles in your list than those associated with this specific metric.
For reference, see the chart below:
|The Subscribed to List metric will appear when customers are added via:||The Subscribed to List metric will NOT appear when customers are added via:|
Several third-party integrations will trigger the Subscribed to List metric, but it is important to make sure that this applies to your integration if you are not using Klaviyo forms. Please consult your integration vendor’s documentation to confirm how they sync data into Klaviyo. You can also check the sync behavior by navigating into a profile added via this integration and seeing if Subscribed to List appears under Metrics.
In general, the following third-party providers' forms should trigger the Subscribed to List metric:
When to Use in a Flow
In general, using the Subscribed to List metric to trigger your flow is not a best practice. Instead, if you want customers in a specific list to go through your flow when added, you should create a list-triggered flow.
One scenario that would require a Subscribed to List metric-triggered flow is if you want your flow to trigger from people being added to a list via a specific form that they can submit more than once and then go through the flow more than once. Each time the customer fills out your form, they will be taken through the flow again and, as a result, will receive your emails or SMS multiple times.
For example, let’s say you have a product review form on your site that pulls contact information into a product review list. You may have this form appear each time a new product is launched and/or someone purchases. Since you likely have multiple products, you will want them to be able to review each. So, they would submit the form several times and thus go through your metric-triggered flow several times.
Be sure to add a trigger filter identifying the specific list you are referring to with the Subscribed to List metric. For example, this trigger filter is: List equals Product Review List.
A metric-triggered flow enables the contact to go through the flow each time that metric is triggered, whereas a list-triggered flow only allows the contact to go through the flow once (as soon as they were added to the list).
When to Use in a Segment
Use Subscribed to List when building a segment if you want to view the performance of a specific method for adding subscribers to a list. For example, if you want to see how your newsletter signup form is performing, this metric will show the number of individuals who subscribed to your newsletter through that channel. It will exclude those who you manually upload in the ways previously mentioned.