When a customer contacts you with a GDPR or CCPA request, you may have to provide their complete profile data or a record of their profile deletion. In Klaviyo, it's possible to export this data to share it with a customer.
Export a Profile's Data
First, navigate to the profile you want to export and click Export Profile. A modal will appear prompting you to confirm your export. Click Start Export to export the profile data.
A green callout will confirm that the profile data is available on your Downloads page. On this page, click to Download to export your profile data as a .zip file.
Record GDPR and CCPA Deletion Requests
When responding to a deletion request, you can choose to add a profile to your account's list of deleted profiles, preserving a record that your business has complied with the deletion request.
When deleting a profile in Klaviyo, the profile’s event history, as well as every recipient record associated with the profile, remains in Klaviyo, but any sensitive data associated with the profile is removed.
For a profile's event history, any customer-specific information is replaced with the word "redacted," and then the customer's information is permanently deleted from Klaviyo.
For every recipient record associated with a profile, the profile's email address is replaced with a random email address that starts with the word "redacted." For example, firstname.lastname@example.org.
To delete a Klaviyo profile, navigate to the profile and click the Delete button below the Information section of a contact profile. After clicking Delete, a warning message will prompt you to confirm your decision.
Check the box on the warning message to specify that the contact requested their profile be deleted in compliance with GDPR and/or CCPA. Then, the profile will be added to your account's list of deleted profiles.
After clicking Delete Person, you'll be taken to your list of deleted profiles. This list provides a permanent record that your business has complied with any deletion requests.
You can access your list of deleted profiles by navigating to your Account > Settings > Account Maintenance and clicking the link.