In Klaviyo, there are two types of profiles: Active and Suppressed. You can see the total number of customers in each group by clicking on your Profiles tab, and looking at the values in the top right corner of the page.
This guide will define what it means for a profile to be "suppressed" and the significance of these profiles in your Klaviyo account.
- To learn more about how Klaviyo manages unique contact profiles, click here
- To explore Klaviyo's guide to unsubscribes, click here
What is a Suppressed Profile?
A suppressed profile is a person who can no longer be emailed. A person can become suppressed for the following reasons:
- The person unsubscribed
The main way a profile will become suppressed is if the person unsubscribes from one of your emails; when someone unsubscribes, Klaviyo will suppress the person to ensure that he/she no longer receives emails from you.
- The person marked an email as spam
If a recipient struggles to find an unsubscribe button, or otherwise wants to take action against your email as spam, many inbox providers allow for a user to directly mark an email as spam; when this happens, Klaviyo will automatically suppress this person to ensure that he/she no longer receives emails from you.
- An email hard bounced
A hard bounce occurs when an email cannot be delivered due to a permanent reason. This could be caused by a variety of reasons, including a misspelled email or a deliberate block by the email server. A hard bounce signals a permanent email delivery issue, so Klaviyo will automatically suppress these profiles to help ensure your lists stay clean.
- An email soft bounced more than 7 times
A soft bounce occurs when an email cannot be delivered due to a temporary reason. For example, a recipient's inbox may be full, the server may be down, etc. If an email soft bounces more than 7 times, however, it indicates that this reason may be a consistent issue. To prevent continual soft bounces, we will suppress email addresses that soft bounce more than 7 times.
- Manually added
If you have a file of people you want to manually upload to your suppression list, this is an option; you will be able to distinguish these people on your suppression list by the reason "manually added." You cannot bulk unsuppress individuals from your suppression list even if you manually added them.
To find your suppression list in Klaviyo, navigate to the Profiles tab and then click Suppressed Profiles in the upper right-hand corner. Once you navigate to your suppression list, you will be able to filter by reason, export this list to a CSV, add an email address manually, or upload a file of people you'd like to suppress.
How Klaviyo Treats Suppressed Profiles
Suppressed Profiles & Pricing
Klaviyo's pricing tiers are based on the total number of active profiles in your account. An active profile is any profile that isn't suppressed; Klaviyo does not charge for suppressed profiles.
If you navigate to your Account Overview, you will only see active profiles referenced in terms of counting against your plan limit. On the Profiles tab of your account, you will see the counts for total Active Profiles and Suppressed Profiles separately.
Automatic Exclusion from Email Sends
Klaviyo will automatically exclude all suppressed profiles from any email. This means even if you try to send an email to profiles that are suppressed, Klaviyo will automatically ensure these intended recipients are skipped.
For flow emails, for example, under Recipient Activity > Other you will always find a Skipped: Person Suppressed count that signals how many people didn't receive the email because they are suppressed in your account.
If you have Klaviyo's Global Unsubscribe feature enabled, which is highly recommended, someone will become "globally" suppressed in your account after unsubscribing from any email. This means that if someone unsubscribes from just one list, he/she will be removed from any list they are on.
You can access the Global Unsubscribe Feature from the Unsubscribes section on your Account > Settings > Email Settings tab.
Keeping this feature enabled is recommended because it is most in-line with recipient expectations. If a recipient chooses to unsubscribe, this action signals he/she would like to stop receiving emails from the sender. If this recipient continues to receive emails from the sender, he/she will either ignore your emails, begin to mark them as spam, or take more aggressive action -- as a sender, all of these consequences can significantly harm your email deliverability.
Note that the total number of Suppressed Profiles on your Profiles tab represents all profiles that have been "globally suppressed" in your account. If you turn off the global suppressions and a customer unsubscribes from a particular list, they will not count as a Suppressed Profile on the Profiles tab.
Keeping vs. Deleting Suppressed Profiles
There are severals reasons why Klaviyo recommends keeping suppressed profiles in your account instead of deleting them:
- Klaviyo will never charge you for suppressed profiles
Klaviyo's pricing tiers are based on the total number of active profiles; you will never be prompted to upgrade to pay for suppressed contacts, so there is no cost associated with keeping them in your account.
- Suppressed users still matter for business insights
Klaviyo's segmentation tools can help you gain important business insights. If you plan on creating segments to analyze customer behavior, website activity, etc., deleting profiles (even those you can't ultimately email) will skew these segments and make it impossible to get accurate insights.