Guide to Suppressed Email Profiles in Klaviyo

read
Last updated at:

Overview

Learn about suppressed email profiles, including how they differ from active email profiles and how you can use these profiles to better understand your audience.

What Is a Suppressed Profile?

When a profile is suppressed for email, you can no longer use email as a marketing tool for that person. 

A person can become suppressed for the following reasons:

  • The person unsubscribed
    The main way a profile is suppressed is if they unsubscribe from one of your emails. When someone unsubscribes, Klaviyo will suppress them to ensure that they no longer receive emails from you.
  • The person marked an email as spam
    If a recipient struggles to find an unsubscribe button, or is otherwise frustrated by your email communications, they may mark your message as spam. When this happens, Klaviyo will automatically suppress this person to ensure that they no longer receive emails from you.
  • An email hard bounced
    A hard bounce occurs when an email cannot be delivered due to a permanent reason. This can be caused by a variety of reasons, including a misspelled email address or a deliberate block by the email server. A hard bounce signals a permanent email delivery issue, so Klaviyo will automatically suppress these profiles to help ensure your lists stay clean.
  • An email soft bounced more than seven consecutive times
    A soft bounce occurs when an email cannot be delivered due to a temporary reason. For example, a recipient's inbox may be full or the server may be down. If an email soft bounces more than seven times in a row, it indicates that this is be a consistent issue. To prevent continual soft bounces, Klaviyo will suppress email addresses that soft bounce more than seven times consecutively.
  • Manually added
    If you have uploaded a file of people to manually suppress them for email, they will appear on your suppression list with the reason manually added; meanwhile, on their profile, it will say user suppressed. You cannot bulk unsuppress individuals from your suppression list even if you manually added them.
  • The person was suppressed in a previous email service provider
    This type of suppression occurred prior to your use of Klaviyo and was synced from a third-party service provider, such as Mailchimp. In this case, the suppression reason will be listed as user suppressed as well.

If you have Klaviyo's global unsubscribe feature enabled, someone will become globally suppressed in your account after unsubscribing from any email. For more information, head to the section on global suppressions below.

Viewing a Profile’s Suppression Status

To see if a profile is suppressed for email, navigate to their profile. 

On the right side, scroll down to the Channels section to view their consent status. 

This area will contain the person’s email address (and may also include their phone number, if they’ve opted in to SMS). Next to each piece of contact information, you’ll see one of the following: 

  • A green checkmark 
    This symbol indicates that the profile is consented for email.
    consented_for_email.jpg
  • A red X
    This symbol indicates that the profile is suppressed for email.
    suppressed.jpg
  • No symbol
    If there is no symbol next to a person’s contact information, it means they have neither consented nor opted out. These profiles can still receive emails (e.g., an abandoned cart flow email), but exercise caution when contacting them.
    no_consent_status.jpg

Navigating to Your Email Suppression List

To see the total number of profiles that are active versus suppressed for email, visit your Profiles tab and look at the values in the top right corner of the page. 

Click Suppressed Profiles to view a list of all email suppressions. 

mceclip0.png

Once you navigate to your email suppression list, you can: 

  • Filter by reason
  • Export this list to a CSV
  • Add an email address manually
  • Upload a file of people you'd like to suppress

2017-10-05_14-31-49.png

Please note that you cannot bulk unsuppress in Klaviyo. To manually unsuppress one person, navigate to their profile and click on remove near their email address.

How Klaviyo Treats Suppressed Email Profiles

Suppressed Profiles and Pricing

Klaviyo's email pricing tiers are based on the total number of active email profiles in your account. An active profile is any profile that isn't suppressed for email.

Klaviyo does not charge for suppressed profiles. If you navigate to Account > Overview, you will only see active profiles counting towards your email plan limit. 

Meanwhile, on the Profiles tab of your account, you will see the counts for total Active Profiles and Suppressed Profiles separately, as shown above.

Exclusion from Email Sends

Klaviyo will automatically exclude all suppressed profiles from email sends. This means that, even if you try to send an email to suppressed profiles, Klaviyo will automatically ensure that these intended recipients are skipped.

For flow emails, under Recipient Activity > Other you will always find a Skipped: Person Suppressed count that signals how many people didn't receive the email because they are suppressed in your account.

Global Suppressions

If you have Klaviyo's global unsubscribe feature enabled, which is highly recommended, someone will become globally suppressed in your account after unsubscribing from any email. This means that if someone unsubscribes from just one list, they will be suppressed from any list they are on.

You can access a global unsubscribe link by navigating to Account > Settings > Email and scrolling down to the Consent section.

Global_unsubscribe.gif

You can access list-specific settings for global unsubscribes by navigating to the Lists & Segments tab, selecting a list, and clicking into Settings.

Under Unsubscribes, check the box to toggle on global unsubscribes for when someone unsubscribes from this list. Click Update List Settings to save this change.

list_unsub.jpg

We recommend enabling this feature because when a customer unsubscribes from one of your emails, they expect to unsubscribe from all of your emails. If a customer continues to receive emails from you after unsubscribing, they will either ignore them, mark them as spam, or take more aggressive action. As a sender, all of these consequences can significantly harm your email deliverability.

Note that the total number of suppressed profiles on your Profiles tab represents all profiles that have been globally suppressed in your account. If you turn off the global suppressions and a customer unsubscribes from a particular list, they will not count as a suppressed profile on the Profiles tab. If someone unsubscribes from a non-list based send, they will be suppressed from all future emails. 

Suspicious Emails

Suspicious emails are email addresses that have hard bounced at least once across the Klaviyo infrastructure. This means that even if they have never hard bounced in your account, they have previously hard bounced in another Klaviyo user's account.

Suspicious emails will automatically be skipped from receiving emails. This is in an effort to preserve your sending reputation, as well as the sending reputation of other Klaviyo customers. You can see a count of the number of suspicious email addresses skipped, along with emails skipped for other reasons, in the Campaign Overview. You can also see this count in the Recipient Activity section for a given campaign. 

Keeping vs. Deleting Suppressed Profiles

There are several reasons why Klaviyo recommends keeping suppressed profiles in your account instead of deleting them:

  • Klaviyo will never charge you for suppressed profiles
    Klaviyo's pricing tiers are based on the total number of active profiles; you will never be prompted to upgrade to pay for suppressed contacts, so there is no cost associated with keeping them in your account. If you list clean and qualify for a lower pricing tier, make sure to select that lower tier under Account > Billing > Email Billing
  • Suppressed users still matter for business insights
    Klaviyo's segmentation tools can help you gain important business insights. If you plan on creating segments to analyze customer behavior, website activity, etc., deleting profiles (even those you can't ultimately email) will skew these segments and make it impossible to get accurate insights.

How to Suppress Profiles

To suppress a single profile for email, navigate to Profiles > Suppressed Profiles and click Add Email Address

To learn how to suppress multiple profiles at once, head to our article How to Bulk Delete or Suppress Contacts in Klaviyo

Additional Resources 

 

x
Was this article helpful?
465 out of 632 found this helpful