Bulk deleting and suppressing a group of contacts is permanent. There is no way to bulk un-suppress or recover contacts.
Some integrations may import customers or users that you may never want to email in Klaviyo. For example:
- Amazon purchasers that you can't email
- Support tickets opened by non-customers
- Inactive email addresses you don't want to email
Or, over time, you may want to clean certain profiles out of your account.
If you are interested in removing contact profiles from Klaviyo, you have two options: Suppress or Remove Completely. Both of these actions are permanent and cannot be undone.
Bulk Delete Contacts from Klaviyo
If you want to permanently remove a group of people from your account, you first have to create a list or segment that contains these contacts.
Next, you can go your account settings and navigate to the Account Maintenance tab. Here, you will see a "Remove Profiles" section where you can choose this list or segment from a drop-down menu to delete.
If you delete people via the Account Maintenance tab, these profiles will be completely erased and no history will be kept -- this is permanent.
Bulk Suppress Contacts in Klaviyo
If you want to keep a group of contacts in your account and suppress them so they stop receiving any and all emails from you, you can upload them as a list of contacts to your account's suppression list.
Once you create a list or segment of those you want to suppress, you'll have to export this segment to a CSV file. Next, remove all columns in the spreadsheet except for the column with the header Email.
Next, find your suppression list by navigating to the Profiles tab in your account. Click the Suppressed People link in the upper right of that page and you will see an Upload File button.
When you suppress a group of people, their profiles will remain intact in your account. They will be considered "inactive," however, and you will not be able to email them. Inactive profiles will also not count towards your Klaviyo plan's active profile limit. This action is permanent, however, and it is not possible to un-suppress a group of contacts.