Shopify Accepts Marketing subscriber reference
You will learn
Learn about how subscribers in your account were synced from Shopify to Klaviyo before Klaviyo updated this sync in December 2022.
Before you begin
On December 14, 2022, Klaviyo released an update changing the way email subscribers are synced from Shopify to Klaviyo. This sync previously relied on Shopify’s Accepts Marketing property, but now, subscribers are synced via Shopify’s subscription model.
This property still syncs to Klaviyo using Shopify’s email marketing consent information. It is not a substitute for a profile’s email consent and suppression status in Klaviyo. Shopify has deprecated its original Accepts Marketing fields.
If you'd like to learn about how Klaviyo's subscriber sync currently functions, head to How to sync Shopify email subscribers to a Klaviyo list. If you are looking to understand your Shopify subscribers synced before December 2022, read on.
How did subscribers previously sync from Shopify?
Before December 14, 2022, Klaviyo's subscriber sync from Shopify relied on Shopify’s Accepts Marketing property.
Below is an example of how the property appeared on a customer's profile in Klaviyo.

There are a few situations that could have caused an existing customer to have Accepts Marketing set to false while still being subscribed to your email list:
- If a customer checked out and decided not to accept email marketing at that time, but later subscribed through a Klaviyo sign-up form, they still would have been added to your email list.
- If a customer checked out and accepted email marketing, they'd be added to your email list. If they checked out again and left the email marketing checkbox unselected because they were already subscribed, Shopify might have recorded this as not accepting marketing, depending on your checkout configuration (Accepts Marketing = false). In this situation, the false value alone did not mean the customer had unsubscribed from your Klaviyo list.
An existing customer was not automatically suppressed solely because Accepts Marketing was set to false. To check a customer's current email consent and suppression status, open their profile's Details tab and expand Email. To learn more about suppression, check out our article Understanding suppressed email profiles.