How to Bulk Delete or Suppress Contacts in Klaviyo

read
Last updated at:

Overview

Warning

Bulk deleting and suppressing a group of contacts is permanent. There is no way to bulk unsuppress or recover contacts.

Some integrations may import customers or users that you may never want to email in Klaviyo. For example:

  • Amazon purchasers that you can't email
  • Support tickets opened by non-customers
  • Inactive email addresses you don't want to email

Over time, you may also want to clean certain profiles out of your account. If you are interested in removing profiles from Klaviyo, you have two options: suppress or delete them entirely. Both of these actions are permanent and cannot be undone.

Bulk Delete Contacts from Klaviyo

If you want to permanently remove a group of people from your account, you must first create a list or segment that contains these contacts.

Next, select your Account dropdown in the upper right corner of your screen and click Account. 

account_dropdown.png

Click into the Settings tab and navigate to Account Maintenance. Here, you will see a Remove Profiles section where you choose the list or segment you wish to delete from a drop-down menu. Then, click Delete People.

When you delete people, these profiles will be completely erased and no history will be kept — this is permanent.

Bulk Suppress Contacts in Klaviyo

If you want to keep a group of contacts in your account and suppress them so that they stop receiving emails from you, upload them to your account's suppression list.

Use bulk suppression when removing profiles that also exist in your ecommerce platform. If you bulk delete, they will resync from your integration and your account will not flag that these profiles should not be emailed.

First, create a list or segment of those you want to suppress. Then, export this list or segment to a CSV file. Remove all columns in the spreadsheet except for the column with the header Email.

Next, find your suppression list by navigating to the Profiles tab of your account. Click the Suppressed People link in the upper right of that page and select Upload File.

When you suppress a group of people, their profiles will remain intact in your account. They will be considered "inactive," however, and you will not be able to email them. Inactive profiles do not count towards your Klaviyo plan's active profile limit. Note that, this action is permanent and it is not possible to un-suppress a group of contacts. 

Additional Resources

x
Was this article helpful?
162 out of 237 found this helpful