Unsubscribes in Klaviyo

read

Overview

This is a general guide to unsubscribes in Klaviyo, including information how you can allow contacts to unsubscribe, how you can manually unsubscribe contacts, and how unsubscribes are treated in Klaviyo.

When a contact is unsubscribed, they become suppressed in Klaviyo. Learn more about suppressed profiles.

Add an Unsubscribe Link to an Email

To add a basic unsubscribe link, use the following Klaviyo tag: {% unsubscribe %}

You can place this unsubscribe tag directly in your template. By default, the {% unsubscribe %} tag will populate as an unsubscribe link in your email with the text "Unsubscribe." If you want to customize the text in the link, this tag takes an optional parameter that allows you to customize the text.

If you need even more control, there is also a tag that provides only the URL for the unsubscribe link. All three options are shown here:

{% unsubscribe %} Unsubscribe
If you'd no longer like to receive emails, {% unsubscribe 'click here' %} If you'd no longer like to receive email, click here.
This is a fancy <a href="{% unsubscribe_link %}">unsubscribe</a> link. This is a fancy unsubscribe link.

List-Specific Unsubscribe Settings

For each list, Klaviyo handles an unsubscribe as a global unsubscribe and suppression. We recommend adding a set of checkboxes to your newsletter's sign up form that indicates the different types of emails you'll be sending. This way, people will be able to opt-in to receive specific emails based on their preference. These same checkboxes will also appear on your list's Preferences page, so subscribers can update their subscription preferences anytime -- this essentially allows them to "unsubscribe" from any specific list by updating their preferences.

Manually Unsubscribe Someone from Klaviyo

Unsubscribe One or More Profiles from a Given List

To manually unsubscribe profiles from a given list, navigate to that list and from the Manage List dropdown select List Suppressions.

listSuppressionList.png


The Add Email Address button allows you to manually suppress someone from this specific list. From the List Suppressions page you can filter profiles based on whether they unsubscribed on their own (Unsubscribed), or were added manually (Manually Added).

Unsubscribe One or More Profiles Globally

To manually unsubscribe someone from all emails sent by Klaviyo, navigate to Profiles > Suppressed Profiles.

suppressedProfiles.png


On this page, you'll see a list of everyone that is currently suppressed. Reasons why someone could be on your suppression list include the following:

  • This person unsubscribed
  • Emails to this person hard bounced
  • This person marked an email of yours as spam
  • This person was manually added to the suppression list

To add a single profile to your suppression list, click the Add Email Address button.

To bulk upload contacts to your suppression list, you can use the Upload File button. Bulk suppressing contacts cannot be undone. This is a permanent action.

In your Account settings, you can navigate to Email Settings and find the section labeled Unsubscribes. Here, you will find a global unsubscribe link that can also be used to globally suppress contacts. If you share this link with someone or include this link in an email, it will allow someone to globally unsubscribe themselves from all your future emails.

globalUnsubscribeLink.gif

Unsubscribe vs. Update Email Preferences

In all of your emails, we recommend also including a direct link to update email preferences in addition an unsubscribe link. This is a separate link -- generated by the manage preferences tag, {% manage_preferences %} -- that will take the recipient to a page where preferences can be updated. 

When someone attempts to unsubscribe, it is possible that he/she may actually just want to receive fewer emails from you. By allowing your subscribers to choose how often they'd like to hear from you, you can lower unsubscribe rates.

While it isn't possible to turn an unsubscribe page into a preferences form, you can add an "update preferences" link to your unsubscribe page -- we support the same manage preferences tag syntax in the text box on this page. This way, you may stop some would-be-unsubscribers from unsubscribing completely.

When Someone Unsubscribes and Re-Subscribes

Whenever someone unsubscribes, they will become globally suppressed. This is because when someone chooses to unsubscribe from one of your emails, they typically expect to unsubscribe from all of them. However, contacts can re-subscribe and become unsuppressed at any time.

  • If someone is globally suppressed and then re-subscribes to the same list, they will become unsuppressed and resume receiving emails
  • If someone is globally suppressed after unsubscribing from List A and then subscribes to List B, they will not be resubscribed to List A and won't be globally suppressed anymore
  • If someone is globally suppressed after unsubscribing from an event-based flow, then subscribes to a list, they will become unsuppressed
  • Someone is globally suppressed after unsubscribing from a list and is imported into a list that already exists in Klaviyo, they will remain suppressed
Was this article helpful?
7 out of 27 found this helpful