Someone does not need to have a profile in your Klaviyo account, or exist as an account user, in order to receive emails from a notification action. However, all recipients will need to opt in to receive notifications from your account before they start receiving any messages. They can also opt out at any time. In this article, we explain the recipient opt-in and opt-out process for the notification action as well as the different statuses.
Opting in or out of account notifications does not impact a contact’s subscriber or suppression status in Klaviyo if they also do have a profile in your account.
There are three possible statuses for a notification recipient:
- Confirmed: The recipient has been successfully added to the recipient list for at least one notification action, and has clicked through a confirmation email opting in to receive notifications from your account. Confirmed recipients will receive notifications.
- Unconfirmed: The recipient has been successfully added to the recipient list for at least one notification action, but has not yet clicked through their confirmation email and opted in to receive notifications from your account. Unconfirmed recipients will not get notification messages until they confirm their opt-in.
- Disabled: The recipient at one point was confirmed and received notifications but has since opted out by clicking an unsubscribe link within a notification message. Disabled recipients will not get notification messages unless you remove them, re-add them, and they reconfirm opt-in.
The Opt-In Process
When you first add someone’s email address to a notification action, and click to save your changes, Klaviyo will send this person an email asking them to confirm they would like to receive notifications from your account, shown below. Until a recipient confirms, their status in your Send To list will show as Unconfirmed and they will not receive any notifications.
A new recipient, once confirmed, can be added to any notification action across any flow without needing to re-confirm. To retrigger an opt-in confirmation email to an unconfirmed or disabled recipient, simply remove them from the action, click save, and then re-add them. This will trigger a new confirmation email to be sent.
The Opt-Out Process
Every notification message will also contain an autopopulated unsubscribe link that is specifically used to track opt-outs for account notifications.
If someone decides they no longer want to receive notifications from your account, they can opt out by clicking this unsubscribe link in any notification email. After they opt out, they will show as Disabled in your Send To list and will be grayed out. Opted-out recipients will no longer receive notifications.
If a recipient unsubscribes, they will become disabled and no longer receive any notifications from your account moving forward.