How to create and manage universal and saved content

read
Last updated at:

You will learn

Learn how to use universal or saved content to reuse specific blocks or sections within a template and avoid duplicative work. For example, if you have a header or a footer that you use in all your email templates, you can save it to avoid recreating it from scratch in every new email.

Content saved in the new editor cannot be used in the classic editor, and content saved in the classic editor cannot currently be used in the new editor. 

In Klaviyo’s new template editor, you can save blocks or sections as universal content. When you do, you can choose to apply future edits to every instance of the universal block, across all templates. 

In Klaviyo’s classic template editor, you can save any block as a saved block. If you make edits to a saved block within a template, those edits will not be reflected in other instances of the saved block. 

Table of contents

Universal content (new editor)

Save a block for reuse

When you hover over or click a block within an email template, you will see a star icon. Once you have a block formatted the way you would like it, click the star icon to save it as a universal block. Make sure to use a descriptive name so the content is easy to find later. 

save a block.jpg

Save a section for reuse

When you hover over or click a section within an email template, you’ll see a star icon. To make sure you’re selecting a section (rather than a block within the section), click to the right or left of the section’s content. Once you’re ready to save a section, click its star icon. 

save section.jpg

When you click the star icon, you will be prompted to name your universal content. Name it something that will allow you to find it easily, like "Header" or "Footer."

Access and use universal content 

To access and reuse a universal block or section, open the Content tab and click Universal

see universal blocks.gif

Then, you’ll be prompted to choose a universal block or section. Only universal content that was built in the new editor will be available to choose from. Search by the content’s name or scroll through all your universal content to choose one.

Once you find the block or section you would like to reuse, drag it into your template. 

Edit content across multiple templates

To edit a universal content block or section, click on it from any template. You have two options for editing universal content: 

  • Edit across all instances
    Choose this option if you’d like your edits reflected in every template containing this piece of content
  • Unlink and edit independently
    Choose this option if you’d like your edits to only apply in the template you’re currently editing 

Edit universal content.jpg

If you click Edit Across All Instances, editing other blocks in your template will temporarily be disabled. Make any desired edits to the universal content, then click Publish Changes to apply the changes across all instances of the content in other templates. Alternatively, use the back arrow to discard your changes and return to the main editor. 

Use the # emails and templates button to see a list of all messages where the block is currently in use. 

See all templates.gif

After you publish the changes, other blocks in the current template will become editable again. 

Manage universal content

Manage universal blocks by navigating to any new editor template, then opening the Universal tab from the Blocks section. From here, you can view a list of universal blocks from the new editor or delete them.

Saved blocks (classic editor)

Save a block for reuse

When you hover over or click a block within an email template, you will see a star icon. Once you have a block formatted the way you would like it, click the star icon to save it as a saved block.

Access and use saved blocks 

To use a saved block, drag the Saved Block icon into your template.

classic saved block.jpg

Then, you’ll be prompted to choose a saved block from the dropdown menu.

2019-09-20_11-47-22.png

Once you’ve chosen the block you would like to reuse, click Insert Block to add it to the  template.

Any content saved in the new editor will not be available for use in the classic editor. 

Manage saved blocks

From the Email Templates tab, click View Saved Blocks. Click Delete next to any saved block you’d like to delete. Note that this will not impact any templates that currently use the saved block. If you make edits to a saved block within a template, those edits will not be reflected in other instances of the saved block.

Saved blocks in the classic editor cannot be edited. If you need to make changes to the saved block: 

  1. Add the existing saved block to any template 
  2. Make the desired edits
  3. Save the block as a new saved block, with a unique name
  4. From the Email Templates tab, click View Saved Blocks and delete the original saved block 

Additional resources

x
Was this article helpful?
171 out of 265 found this helpful