When you review a sent campaign's results, you may notice that your campaign did not send to your complete list/segment.
Depending on whether your campaign was sent to a list or a segment, there are several reasons that might cause this behavior.
Removal of Globally Suppressed Contacts
If you have the Global Unsubscribe feature enabled and someone becomes globally suppressed, this person is not automatically removed from all the lists he/she has subscribed to. In order for someone to be globally suppressed, he/she must unsubscribe from a flow email or a campaign email sent to a segment.
This suppressed person's existing subscriptions will remain intact, but the suppressed tag will ensure that this person doesn't receive any emails moving forward. If someone reaches out asking to opt back in, you can remove the suppressed tag and this person will begin receiving the same emails as before -- this person won't have to worry about re-subscribing.
For example, your newsletter list may have 500 people on it, but it's possible that 5% of those people are actually globally suppressed. If you send a campaign to this newsletter list, Klaviyo will automatically skip all suppressed users and you'll notice that only 475 emails were successfully sent.
To test this out, use Klaviyo's Segment Builder to view a cross-section of your list that is suppressed. This segment should include the following two conditions:
If someone is in or not in a list >
Person is in [Choose List]
If someone is or is not suppressed >
Person is suppressed
Below is an example from our segment builder:
Learn moreClean Global Suppressions from a List.
Recipient Activity: Skipped Recipients
As a starting point, navigate to the campaign's overview report. The left-hand area below the graph has summary information for the sent campaign.
This gray box displays the subject, from email, list or segment the campaign was sent to, and the date/time the campaign was sent. There is also a section for People Skipped that groups people into key buckets based on why they were skipped.
If your campaign has Smart Sending enabled, this section will show you how many people were skipped because they received another email too recently. People also may get skipped if they have a missing or invalid email address.
Here are the key reasons why someone may not have received your campaign email despite being on the send list:
- User has Unsubscribed
When someone unsubscribes, he/she won't receive any more emails from you.
- User Has Marked an Email as Spam
If someone complains that an email from you is spam, he/she won't receive any more emails from you to keep your email deliverability strong.
- Emails to User Have Hard Bounced
If an email to someone hard bounces (this happens most often when the email address is invalid) he/she won't receive any more emails from you to keep your email deliverability strong.
- User Has an Invalid Email
If someone is on your send list, but his/her email address proves to be invalid, your email will not be successfully delivered.
- User Was Manually Excluded
If you've manually excluded certain people from receiving your emails, we won't email them.
- Smart Sending
If certain people have already received another email within your established Smart Sending Period, and Smart Sending is enabled for your campaign, they will be skipped.
If you navigate to the Recipient Activity tab, and click on the Other dropdown, you can also view activity around skipped recipients.
Scheduled Campaigns and Target Send Lists
When you schedule a campaign to send at a future date/time, you will see an option to determine recipients based on members of your list at send time instead of right now.
When you schedule a campaign, we take a snapshot of the list or segment you've selected. When scheduling a campaign that won't be sent for several days or weeks, it's likely that this target list may grow or shrink during the scheduled period.
If enabled, this option will prompt Klaviyo to take a new snapshot of your target list or segment right before the scheduled campaign sends. This will ensure you're sending to an up-to-date list or segment. If this option is not enabled your campaign will send to the snapshot captured at the time you scheduled the email.